The 4 Books I am Not Reading: Up for a Challenge?

I have four brand new, crisp-covered books waiting their turn for a read:

1. The Septembers of Shiraz by Dalia Sofer – I think I need to read this one in the next month for the book club I’ve been in for 4 years. We get together about 4 times a year and take turns picking books and hosting dinners. It’s a group of 8 women and we try to focus on books that have something to do with Judaism. Although some of our books have been busts, I’m pretty excited about this one after reading the NYT book review. And I know my friend, Y, was pretty nervous about picking the right book so I want to make sure I read it. There’s nothing worse  in the book club world than picking a book and no one reading it  or liking it! I’ve suffered a few depressing days myself when this has happened with books I’ve picked.

2. The Price of Privilege by Madeline Levine, Ph.D. – I bought this one for myself because of the subtitle: “How Parental Pressure and Material Advantage Are Creating a Generation of Disconnected and Unhappy Kids.” I have friends who sign their kids up for every imaginable activity: Preschool, soccer, gymnastics, swimming, singing, kindermusik, ballet, tennis, Sunday School…… I think it leads to stressed out moms and stressed out kids. The stuff is expensive and time consuming. I believe in a  “One Class At a Time” rule: If my older daughter was signed up for one class then that’s it. On top of preschool, I don’t feel she’s deprived of stimulation. Plus, as a work-away mom (my new term for moms who work apart from their household responsibilities, even though I technically have my office at home), I just couldn’t justify more than one class a week because I like to drive my own kids and be the person who takes them and picks them up from things. (Luckily I have that flexibility as a mompreneur.)  As a side benefit, my 4 yo now has to think about what she really wants to do – she knows she can’t do everything at once, so she’ll say “Mom, when gymnastics is over can I switch to swimming again?”  I want her to know that one choice necessarily excludes another. She can’t have everything she wants, and she shouldn’t have everything she wants. So, I do look forward to reading this book, although I probably won’t get to it anytime soon.

3. One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez –  I love any book that makes me feel smarter and more informed about the world. This one is for my newer book club, but one where we talk about the things that really matter and make the topics and themes relevant to our lives, and where we all drink wine and eat food and feel really comfortable sharing secrets. This meeting is a month away and I really do vow to read it in time – I just need to finish knitting the shawl I’m working on so I can wear it on our first cool fall day. Despite the craziness of my schedule, I am the person who reads every book club book, even if I end up not being able to attend the meeting. I have my issues but being a flake is not one of them.

4. Thinking Like Your Editor by Susan Rabiner and Alfred Fortunato – I have become intrigued by the world of publishing. My only two magazine subscriptions right now are Publisher’s Weekly and Bookmarks. (Yes, keep your eye out for “Make More, Be More, Do More” the Book in 2010.)

Anyone up for a challenge? Want to pick any one of these books and then see what all of my MomwithMoney readers think of it? If a few of us each read a book (and I read all of them) then we could have a lot of fun in the comments section of the blog….. Comment back and tell me which one you’ll be reading. And let’s put a deadline – how about one month from today? I’d love to hear that you’re up for the challenge!

I hope all of my readers are having as wonderful a Saturday as I am – a perfect relaxing day with the kids and friends and date night with friends….. I really should be working, but this is so much more fun. I promise to get started reading tonight, as soon as I decide to ditch “Eat, Pray, Love” which has been a huge, unrewarding time-drain.

Leave a Reply

