A Time for Restraint

This weekend, nearly 200 homes were lost in my community.

500 mobile homes in Southern California were also destroyed.

People are losing jobs. Real Estate agents accustomed to prosperity are scrimping and saving.

It’s pretty easy to get lost in the misery, isn’t it?

It’s also pretty easy to ignore it when you’re one of the few doing well in these difficult times.

I think the correct response – the one I’m struggling to find – is somewhere in the middle.

I have lost my interest in shopping because I want to be sensitive about showing off new purchases. But I want to stimulate the economy and not be one of the many responding to paranoia by holding their wallets too close to their bodies.  I want to enjoy my new vacation home with my family without making a big deal of my weekend activities. I also want to celebrate my 35th birthday – which is 2 months away. My long dreamt of plans for a big champagne and cupcakes party for my girlfriends no longer seems to be in good taste, so instead I’m going to spend some quality time with my very best friends.

So, as someone who calls herself a “mom with money,” how do I reconcile having money in an environment when so many are struggling? The Mom With Money Tip for The Day on How to Make More, Be More and Do More is:

Be sensitive to others. Don’t assume you know what a friend is going through right now. Enjoy success with your family and by sharing your good fortune with anonymous others.

And, if you are one of those who is scared right now, think about what you can do to help yourself. Do friends need help with child care or running errands? Can you take on typing work from home? Sell some things on ebay? Use some time to get in shape and concentrate on more spiritual pursuits? Start a consulting business on a topic relating to your expertise? Think about all of the things you have to offer.

Here are some great ideas for Internet related home businesses.

2 responses to “A Time for Restraint

  1. Hi there,

    I looked over your blog and it looks really good. Do you ever do link exchanges on your blog roll? If you do, I’d like to exchange links with you.

    Let me know if you’re interested.

    Thanks..

  2. Be sensitive to others – I love it. Simple but it is so important. Found your blog from @sourwine on Twitter and visited. I like financial matters (stocks and whatnot) and while I no longer work (very much), I sold a business in 2006 which is why I’m able to stay at home. Your title interested me!

Leave a Reply

